Running the Race

I had a harder time selecting the name of my blog and writing “a little bit about myself” than I did writing anything recently.  I wanted to capture the motion of motherhood, the perseverance of marriage, the pace of life, and the essence of faith.  I wanted to capture my interests, my passions, my loves, so that even at a quick glance, readers might get a sense of what’s important to me.  “Running the Race” is a good fit right now, because it holds a few different meanings to me.

Fellow readers of the Bible may recognize the phrase from a passage in the book of Hebrews, one of my favorites:  “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles.  And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith…” (Hebrews 12:1-2, NIV).  This is very fitting imagery for me as I consider my faith and how I am to live it out.  My faith is not to be stagnant, but ever changing and progressing.  Much of what I write is the result of growth in my heart as I keep looking to Jesus to mold me and lead me.

Taken literally, “Running the Race” speaks of my love for running.  Becoming a mommy has sidelined me from running much at all, but I know it is something I will return to when the time is right.  Running is great because it is something we can do with very little special equipment, we can run almost anywhere we are, we can go solo or add a group of friends, and we can enjoy better mental and physical health no matter what our skill level.  Hours upon hours of running have left me wiser, stronger, and happier than if I had never begun.  I can share in my husband’s joy as he ventures into long-distance running, I can share in my son’s pride as he improves his time for the 400 at school, I can gallop, jog, skip, and walk around the track with my toddler, I can remember fondly how my dad and I started running together when I was in grade school.

In a more figurative sense, I’m sure anyone can appreciate the analogy that compares life to a race.  We are all in nearly constant motion, no matter what our individual calling.  There is downtime, certainly, but most of the time, we must keep going on to whatever “the next thing” is.  As a stay-at-home mom and wife to a very busy husband, I know this race well.  Much of what I write comes from what happens as I put one foot in front of the other and just keep going.  Thankfully, though, my movement has a greater purpose than just moving.  I aim to honor God with my decisions, plans, hopes, thoughts, words, and actions.

What God has taught me, I pray I can be faithful in passing it on to those around me.  Writing is a big part of that, and I’m glad to be able to do it here.

Leave a Reply

