Rewinding DVDs

My husband loves to jokingly remind me of a comment I made a few years ago, when DVD’s were relatively new.  It had something to do with rewinding a DVD.  We both laugh at this, but we know too that it points to my general lack of ease around most modern technology.  I know my way around my iPhone pretty well, I can reset the clock on the microwave, and I am now very aware of how DVDs and their players work, but beyond that, I am often at enmity with things like our printer.

When it comes to this blog, though, I am the first one to admit that I have done the bare minimum.  It took me a few weeks to figure out what it meant to “tag” my ramblings, why it was important, and how to actually do it.  Because of the casual nature of this blog, I have chosen to keep the free pictures that come with it as my background shots.  I have never uploaded any images of my own to this page.  I don’t know how to create links to other pages, though I think that’s a pretty neat idea, and there are many worthy candidates for linkage.

As I was vainly checking the stats here the other day, I realized that I have a kind of fun “problem”.  Because I now have 37 posts, I ought to set up some categories so my posts aren’t just one long, random list.  I actually have some topics and areas of great interest into which to place my pieces of writing.  I am looking forward to coming up with the categories, but admit that I’m somewhat nervous about putting them into action.

On top of my silly nervousness over this minor issue, I have a cold, which always makes my mind a little fuzzy.  I could wait till the congestion passes, but as I’ve been cruising around other blogs, I’m starting to see how cluttered mine might appear (much like my kitchen counter before a “panic clean”).  I know I don’t have a high-traffic blog, but when people do stop by, I’d like to have a pleasant, easy-to-navigate place to read.

So, here it goes.  I hope by tomorrow, I’ll have some good categories in which to organize my ramblings.  If that goes well, I’ll make sure to rewind all the DVDs so they’ll be ready to watch tomorrow–our sweet boy does have strep (AGAIN), after all!  Thanks again to each and every person who takes the time to read what little old me has to say.  I pray I can be a blessing to someone along the way!

4 comments

  1. You are ahead of me for even contemplating categories. On greenlightlady I jump around from plants, bugs, beach and even cats… but no categories. I am having fun though! Sounds like you are too. ~ Wendy

  2. I have nominated you for the Thought Provoking Blog Award. Feel free to accept or not but do receive this as a compliment! See details on my blog. ~ Wendy ( I hope your cold is better.)

    1. I will check out the details on your blog, but I will also say “sure” and “thank you”! As long as I keep taking cold meds, the symptoms are annoying but manageable. My parents have been such blessings to the kids and me while my husband has been out of town–and we are facing the storm “Isaac” in the next day or so!

    2. I think I did it! Thanks for getting me to think about why I enjoy the blogs that I do! This whole blogging thing is turning into a bigger blessing than I’d hoped.

Leave a Reply

