Well Said, Little A.!

I want to write this down somewhere before I forget.  I also want to share this as encouragement that the good things our kids hear from us, really do sink in and can resurface at unexpected moments!

After bringing L. to the door of school, A. and I sat and “played” in the car as she likes to do.  Usually we will draw on her doodle pad, look at a book, or buckle a stuffed animal into her car seat before heading out on errands or back home.  Today, she was holding a big, black Bible and pretending to look up verses.  She had watched her brother do these things on the way to school as he was looking up and practicing a verse to memorize for school.

“What part do you want to read, Mommy?” she asked me.  “You pick,” I told her, curious to see what she would do.  She flipped through the pages, and as she turned them, she said, “Jesus forgives us…Jesus loves us.”  I know she is only 3, and that the deep truths haven’t fully sunken into her young heart, but I earnestly pray that she will hold onto those facts for all her life, and that V. and I as parents (and L. as big brother) can keep helping her understand.  

Some verses I read this morning fit my thoughts exactly (from the letter of the apostle Paul to the Ephesians, chapter 1, verses 15-19):

“For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.  I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.  I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.”

(Sidenote: I read part of these verses to A. when we got home, and she giggled at the idea of our hearts having eyes.  Literal, figurative…it’s all the same in the eyes of a child, right?)

6 comments

  1. This was so sweet! Good work sharing your love of the Lord through daily life with your children.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    1. It was sweet to me, too! I was sniffly and so ready to just be on our way…glad we lingered for a few minutes. She carried that Bible around all day, in fact. I love seeing her learn to read, period, and even more to see her interest in God’s Word.

  2. That is absolutely precious!

    1. Thanks! There are certainly ups and downs, but this was an especially sweet “up”!

  3. What a beautiful tribute to you mom! Imitation is the highest form of flattery. If your daughter is walking around with a Bible at three, I can’t wait to hear what she’s doing in ten years time. Lovely account of raising children in the Lord!

    1. Thank you…they both say things and do things that give us encouragement as parents (and they also say and do things that make us wonder if anything is sinking in!)…I have treasured the alone-time I’ve gotten with both L. and A.!

Leave a Reply

