My Guest Writer

I have full permission from this writer, who is most esteemed in our family, to publish one of his poems here.  You probably haven’t heard of him, nor will I even use his full name here.  He is our dear son, who will turn 8 this spring.  He likes to write, it comes easily to him, and though he will never agree with anyone who tells him so, he also happens to write in lovely cursive!  He also loves to play basketball and football, but not soccer, and can often be found in the house deep in a book.

Being a proud mama, I also have to mention our excitement that a short story he wrote before Christmas has been sent to a regional fine arts competition, having been read by teachers and principals at his school.  I wish I had a copy at home, but I don’t.  It was a blend of themes from many things he’s been reading, like The Lord of the Rings, books from the Narnia series, the Bible, and various mysteries.  One principal wrote to me about how she can see his talent growing in writing.  I think one of the most amazing things about being a parent, is getting to see our children’s gifts emerge.  Sometimes they are in areas we would never expect!

Without further ado, here is L’s poem, titled “Our Home, Heaven”:

Our home, heaven

Being prepared, by the Lamb

Never shall Christians fret

Nor regret,

The saving of their soul.

As I ponder my dear little ones, I will ask you some of the things I’ve been thinking about:

–what gifts and talents do you see in your children, and in your own life as well?

–how are you encouraging the growth and use of those talents?

9 comments

  1. Oh Alison I can see why you are one proud momma!!! All I can say is Wow!!! What wise and beautiful words spoken by a little guy! He is wise beyond his years! I am so impressed!

    1. Thank you for such kind words! We are indeed proud and just pray that his faith keeps growing, and that he will use these and other gifts to bless others!

  2. So young and so wise for his years! What a blessing that he already knows about the wonderful gift of salvation and eternal life with our Father in heaven! It is a stirring poem that would strike at the heart of every believer!

    1. Thank you! I read your words and others’ to L this morning, and he was beaming. He is such a blessing to our family!

  3. Wow! That is very deep and profound for an 8 yr old. It is so wonderful that he has a mom who encourages him. Being excited about any gifts or creative interests my kids have is how I encourage them – and praying continually for God’s will to happen in their lives.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    1. Thank you! I’m biased, but he’s a pretty neat little kid! I’m looking forward to a long weekend with him–Monday is a holiday to honor Martin Luther King, Jr.

      Thank you for your prayers last week for our family…some doors seem to be closing while others may be opening–still waiting, but there is much hope and excitement!

      Have a great weekend–Alison

  4. Hi Alison,
    Congratulate L on his poem. It is beautiful.
    In terms of what I am doing to encourage my kids with their abilities. Mister J is learning guitar. I was his audience because I couldn’t get my head around trying to play the guitar with all the chords. It was just too different to the piano. I ended up dancing with Miss while he played and he loved it. I took up the violin to encourage Miss and am still tearing my hair out. She has more natural ability than me but is struggling to practice every day. She is not real fond of submitting to instruction either. So rather than being constructive, I’m actually tearing my hair out. Yesterday, she was playing her violin back to front.
    IN the mean time, she has said she is a computer game genius…just what I wanted to hear!!
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    1. He loves hearing encouraging words about his creative efforts! Thank you for yours!

      I think it is great for you to learn an instrument right alongside your children. There’s something that kids love about seeing a parent’s vulnerability and humility–and success! I hope the practicing becomes more joyful for all of you. And, like you, I have groaned over the strong pull of the video games!

      Many blessings to you–Alison

      1. Hi Alison,
        I have just found out how I can follow up all the comments I’ve left of other people’s posts. I have found this list and it’s so much easier.
        My violin teacher has told me that I’ve improved quite a lot, which was great. Yesterday, we had our first family violin jam session. I bought Mister his own violin and also managed to get a 1/4 size for Miss. Geoff is playing my old ebay violin. It was great to play together and I’m quietly optimistic. Mister is also going well with his guitar. Meanwhile, they are teaching me how to play minecraft, their favourite computer game. They really want me to play with them and the three of them have great chats about it. I am quite lost with it but hopefully I’ll pick it up soon. xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

