Thirst

Themes follow me in my reading, my conversations, and what I hear at church.  A recent theme has been that of thirst.

Our church has been going very thoroughly and captivatingly through Psalm 63.  The first verse sets the stage: “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.”  First, there is an acknowledgment that the God of the Bible is in fact the author’s God.  King David knew that God would forever be his source of all he needed–and this psalm found him in a time of great need, as he was fleeing for his life from his own son!  The idea of absolute thirst escapes me a bit, because I have always been able to drink something relatively soon after becoming thirsty!  But when I think of literal thirst, of being worn down from lack of water, of being able to think of nothing but the next refreshing drops, I get an idea of what David was talking about.  I know my heart has felt that way, too–longing for joy, or love, or hope, or forgiveness, or healing in different areas of my life.  What would it look like to live without finding the ultimate source of life, strength, and restoration?  Do you think of God in this way, like David did?  His situation was desperate, and he ran to God, not away from Him.

Thirst came up again just a few moments ago as I took some time to catch up (again) with a reading plan I’m using online.  Today’s passage was where Jesus meets a woman at a well in the middle of a hot day, found in the gospel of John, chapter 4.  Jesus begins by asking her for a drink of water.  As a side note, I love how Jesus asks questions to start a spiritual conversation.  As they talk, he says, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  He made the jump from talking of literal to spiritual things, and got to the heart of the matter.  Yes, we all experience thirst physically.  But, we also all thirst spiritually!  This woman was looking to love and companionship with men to fill her up (she had had five husbands, and was living with a man to whom she wasn’t married, the story tells us).  When we thirst, there are a million different ways we can try to quench it.  Our world offers things beyond our imaginations, yet they fail to satisfy, really.  Are you still thirsty?

Here are a few more references to thirst and quenching that are coming to mind:

Psalm 42:1-2: “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.  My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.  When can I go and meet with God?”

Psalm 23:1-3: “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me besides quiet waters, he restores my soul.”

John 4:10: “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”

What are you thirsty for?  

Where or to whom do you go to satisfy your thirst?

I always love to hear questions and comments–I hope this encourages some to either keep finding refreshment and life in our living water, or to return to it, or to seek it out for the first time!  Blessings to all!

One comment

  1. To GOD through prayer. Thank you for sharing it is a much needed post. Mtetar

Leave a Reply

