Just Tornadoes?

Since I was a young girl, I’ve had occasional dreams having to do with tornadoes.  Here’s the general scenario:  I’m watching the sky from a window and I spot the oncoming storm.  Frantically, I try to warn those around me, usually my family or some friends.  Sometimes in the dream, my voice is either muffled or totally useless and I am left to hide, frustrated by my ineffectiveness in telling others about the impending danger.  In the dream, the swirling clouds pass, and I am always all right at the end.  My dreams don’t have a clear conclusion, leading me to believe that the rest is yet to occur…

I take my dreams with a grain of salt.  I think we can learn things about our lives from our dreams, but that they can also *just* be dreams.  As a student of and believer in the Bible, I know that there are many instances of God using dreams to get people’s attention and tell them about things to come.

Whatever you might believe about dreams, or God, or about my particular dreams, bear with me for a moment and consider a “what if”…What if I have always felt like my voice, my presence, were too quiet for others to notice–but that I need to speak up anyway?  What if I have been frustrated in different points in my life because I felt that others were not listening to what I had to say–but that I still have to try?  What if there actually are events in all of our futures that I am supposed to be talking about?  

When the National Weather Service posts a warning about a storm, what do you do?  Most wise people prepare the best they can, protecting the people around them as much as possible.  Here’s where it gets sticky, because I know that not all of you who are reading this share my views on God, Jesus, and things to come.  I’m not writing any of this to earn popularity points, but I am writing out of love for you.  When there are warning signs all around us in the world of things changing, of “storms” coming in the forms of international conflicts, fear, terror, violence, loss of morals, blurred lines of right and wrong, intense suffering, natural disasters, have you considered these signs as more than coincidence?  

I beg of you, look around.  Even if you consider just your life, is everything exactly as it should be?  Now, look at your neighborhood…your city…your nation…your world.  Maybe everything looks all right to you.  I’m sad to say that all the news I read, both locally and internationally, point to more tension, more grief, more hurt, more chaos.  

And yet, I know that there is hope.  I know the source of my hope, and it is a Who, not a what.  I know that the best is yet to come, that there will be a place where there are no more tears, no more pain, only joy.  This might seem to be a heavy message, especially for a Saturday night, but it is very heavy on my heart, and I would be negligent not to write it.  

Comments?  Insight?  Questions?  I just know that at the end of everything, I want to know that I was a faithful, truthful, loving friend to everyone with whom I crossed paths.  

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. Well written, keep on writing and warning! Every voice is needed. 🙂

    1. Thank you! I pray that hearts and eyes will open, and that boldness with truth and love will grow!

  2. […] finish reading this article, please head over to https://amphomma.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/just-tornadoes/. While you are there, why nt check out the rest of the site, and let amphomma know something she […]

    1. Thanks for sharing my post! Blessings–Alison

  3. Thank you for reminding us to listen to GOD, to wait on HIM, to trust HIM. No where are we promised people will hear us. We are told to go (to speak) in HIS name, and we are told to leave that place where people refuse to hear the message. Have courage. STAND (write, speak) in HIS HOLY NAME.

    1. Thank you for the encouraging words!

  4. Allison, in Australia we have a bit of a she’ll be right mate attitude. I’m not like that myself because I’m more of a stress head but many people are so blase about things. They wouldn’t believe the storm forecast. Where we live which is near the beach and people tend to be more casual, we get adults riding bikes on the wrong side of the road without helmets. It’s insane. Something tells me that such people who are blind to the dangers they can already see and know about are going to be completely ignorant of the impending arrival of our Saviour. I don’t know what it’s going to take to wake them up either. Hopefully, not a lost cause but…
    xx Rowena
    PS It has been raining heavily here for weeks and the sun has finally come out today. This means I have to go and do my laps. All 10 laps. I don’t like swimming.

    1. We have that blasé attitude here, too. It’s infuriating to watch, knowing the danger of things like snowstorms and hurricanes (I live in a hurricane prone area). You are right; they often have even more indifference to the Kingdom of God! But, I’ve been reminded and very challenged lately that our job is to share the good news…God does the heart transformations! –Alison

      P.S. the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence: a solo swim sounds fabulous to me since I haven’t done that since becoming a mommy…I hope you were able to enjoy it!

  5. Alison, thanks so much for sharing. Staying prayerful, studying HIS (God)Word, and applying it is very helpful as well as listening, and waiting on HIM (God). http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

    1. Thank you for such an encouraging comment! Now more than ever we must stay close to Him!

  6. I agree that we are to speak up regardless if anyone seems to be listening. The Spirit opens eyes and hearts through His message being spoken. Keep speaking dear friend!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    1. I will! You too! Have a lovely Monday!

Leave a Reply

