I’m Listening!

When I was in high school, my close friends joked about my being the “queen of the radio”, meaning that whatever was on my mind, seemed to show up in just the right songs on the radio.  It got a little weird sometimes, as if I could think of certain song lyrics, and then within a few minutes, that song would come on.

I don’t listen to the radio much anymore, mostly because I’m busy talking in the car with my son about school or singing with my daughter (her favorites are from “The Sound of Music”).  Tonight, with a weary heart that I would also venture to call “toxic”, I started humming, seemingly out of the blue, a song about God’s love for us, called “Amazed”. Before I got into the shower, I turned on a “praise” station on Pandora on my phone and set it within earshot.  I got goosebumps when the second song that came on, was the very one I’d been singing to myself moments ago.  The song after that was an old hymn that I also love, called “I Surrender All”, and the next one was another favorite, “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing”.  I’ve come too far in life to chalk these things up to mere coincidence!

These songs did for my jaded heart what the soap and hot water did for my physical body. It had been a day of opposition–from my toddler, from little things around the house, from my own mind.  I felt like I was swimming against the current all day, and there was a chunk of time that found me simply sobbing.  I couldn’t even put my finger on a precise cause of all this emotion, and it always alarms me when it happens periodically, but I felt as though I couldn’t hold back.  My little A just sat with me, and I got to tell her about my need for God in my heart all over again.  I understood her happy transition to a game of hide-and-seek to mean that she had forgiven me and moved on!

Here are the lyrics from the song that truly refreshed my heart tonight:

“Amazed” by Desperation Band

You dance over me
While I am unaware
You sing all around
But I never hear the sound

Lord I’m amazed by You
Lord I’m amazed by You
Lord I’m amazed by You
How You love me

How wide
How deep
How great
Is Your love for me

I am struck anew that I know a God who is infinite, yet intimate.  I am lovable, because He first loved me.  Everything that would separate me from Him, He has removed from me as far as the east is from the west.  Who am I, who are any of us, that His love would be so enormous and personal?  May my words, thoughts, and actions all be in awestruck response to that perfect love, and may more and more people discover this love, too!

12 comments

  1. Hi Alison. I can so relate to your day yesterday. I am usually pretty buoyant but this week, I’ve sunk. I’ve had a bad stomach ache for about two weeks. I battled through it last week but I’ve come to a stop this week and I’ve lined up friends to take the kids to and from school and someone to help me get the kids out the door in the mornings. With all this going on, the kids “rescued” two very dependent baby birds from their climbing tree and we’ve been trying to reunite them with their parents, which I think might have succeeded. While climbing the ladder, I pulled a calf muscle. I too finally turned to God last night seeking his comfort. I like the song you’ve posted.
    There are times when everything we touch does go wrong and it certainly gets me down but it helps to have each other and God is with us. We just need to remember that somehow.
    xx Rowena

    1. I just went back and read your post about the baby birds! What an adventure! I am sorry to hear about how poorly you’ve been feeling–I do pray for recovery very quickly. It’s hard to put ourselves on the sidelines, but I’m glad you have loving people around you to help get the kids where they need to be!

      I feel refreshed mentally already, having had some time to myself and a nice, hot shower. Usually I get to read/write/pray/think while little A takes her nap, but since part of today’s strife was over said nap (as in it just didn’t happen), not only did I not get that quiet time, I was quite flustered instead! I’m not sure what was going on inside my heart to make all those things bother me so much, but I truly did feel toxic. I even texted my husband at work to pray for me, which I usually only do when it just can’t wait till he comes home!

      Praying for a restful night and a brand new day to come, for both of us! Blessings–Alison

      1. Hi Alison,
        I finally found your reply and am sorry to hear you had such a frustrating day, which has well and truly passed by now. I find that I crave that quiet time to recharge, even though I am quite extroverted and need people. I also really need silence. A deep breath. This often keeps me up late at night after everyone has gone to bed.
        My health is going better. My lungs are up to 65% so that’s great news. I’m going into hospital in a few weeks time for a sleep study to see how things are going.
        Take care & God Bless,
        Rowena

      2. I am glad to hear about some improvement in your health! I hope the sleep study helps, too! Have a good weekend with your family! I always look forward to your posts and your thoughtful comments!

  2. I think that song “Amazed” is one a ladies’ group sang at church. It IS beautiful!

    1. Yes! I sobbed all over again when it came on!

  3. I surrender is mine. You feel great giving Him all the praise, worship, and thanksgiving, that’s a good thing. Dance and sing like David and feeling good. http://live365.com is another station. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    1. I have always loved music and singing, and their effects on my heart. Today was especially full of blessing as I turned my heart over to Him!

      1. Alison, HE is THE One and THE only one to turn to. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      2. Hallelujah! Be Blessed, Mtetar

  4. Alison, I agree with you that the songs were not a coincidence. His love is real! Do you find it’s often those little things that touch us the most deeply? I love the little things God and our loved ones do just when we need it most. May we be used by Him to do little things too.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

