New Shoes, New Year

As many of you know by now, I chose the name of my blog because of its Biblical significance (Hebrews 12) and because of my lifelong love for running.  I always feel a little bit strange writing about running because I run so infrequently these days.  After spending my teen and early adult years running just about every day, and even working my way up to a marathon 15 years ago, my knees and status as a stay-at-home mom have brought my running to almost a complete halt.

I’ve learned to be content with waiting to run again.  I know this is a very important and fleeting season of life, when my husband and children just need me to be here.  Sure, there are still occasional evening jogs or walks, but I’m not considering any true, intentional training until I have a bit more free time.  However, this isn’t to say I’m completely ignoring my physical fitness.

I get a lot out of at-home workouts in the evenings, after the kids are in bed.  There are a lot of choices available for no charge through our cable company.  I think that’s pretty great.  I’ve found that as long as I’m doing something active, consistently, that I look and feel the way I want to.  My fitness goals are a bit vague, but I want to build muscle without getting bulky, to be lean, to keep up with my kids, and keep the metabolism going strong.  If there’s anyone else out there with similar fitness goals, I’d love to chat and encourage each other, by the way!

I took a big step towards motivating myself to being active in some way every day, this past weekend:  I bought new running shoes.  This was part of my dear husband’s birthday gift to me.  I turned 36 this weekend, and I know he heard me make a comment the other day while looking at old pictures that I had worn the same running shoes since our 3-year old was a baby.  Oops.  Sunday after lunch, V and my parents took the kids to get frozen yogurt while I went by myself (all the parents know how significant solo outings can be!) into a running store.  A very kind and bubbly sales associate, a fellow mommy, helped me assess my gait and pick out a suitable shoe.  Wow, did those shoes feel good.  She told me I had a great neutral gait, and that my form looked good for having not been running much at all.  Even those 20 seconds on the treadmill were invigorating–the heart of a runner never stops beating!

I haven’t taken the shoes out on the streets yet, but I hope to soon.  I did wear them to exercise at home last night, and so far they are just right.  I am glad I worked out last night, on my birthday, because it felt like the right way to start off a new year of life.  I am so very thankful for a strong, healthy body, and I want to honor God by taking care of it.  Plus, my mind feels clearer and calmer, but also more creative and energetic, whenever I exercise vigorously.  I see no reason yet why 36 can’t be stronger and more fit than 35!

How about you?  What are your favorite ways to keep your physical body healthy, strong, and active?  

13 comments

  1. Happy and A Blessed Birthday! All Thanks to God for another day, year, good health, strength, and A piece of mind. I love walking and it helps keeping me fit. Also there is always work around the house to keep me in motion. God is Good, and because of his Grace, Mercy, and Love I’m grateful He strengthens me each day He allows me to see. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    1. Thank you! It is indeed a blessing to be healthy in body, mind, and spirit. I enjoy freedom through Jesus in all aspects of life! I love walking, too. Daily care of family and home definitely keep me active, too. My little one wasn’t feeling great today, so I ended up carrying her more than usual. 25 pounds on the hip gets heavy after a while!

      Have a restful night, and thank you again for your visit and encouraging words. –Alison

      1. Thanks Alison, and I hope she’s doing well today, by the Lord’s Will. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      2. Thank you for your concern for my little girl. Quite unlike her brother, she was feeling poorly last night but woke up feeling rather normal! I’m so used to sicknesses lingering for days with our son, that only being sick for a day is very surprising! But we are glad to have little A feeling better, of course.

      3. Now that’s a Blessing, showing one of the many Goodness and ways of the Lord. I’m glad she’s well. Be Blessed Alison, Mtetar

  2. I like to walk or garden when it’s nice out: When it rains I use the exercise equipment in the house (while reading garden magazines 🙂 or devotionals). Enjoy the new shoes!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    1. I hope to make it outside for a walk or even a run soon, before the weather becomes unbearably hot. It is so good to find ways to help ourselves be healthy and happy, that are pleasing to God!

  3. Oh, it really is those little things that can put a little pep in our step! Good for you for finding some inspiration and light! Happy 36th Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful year!! Melissa

    1. Thank you! This year of life is off to a very good start. My heart overflows!

  4. Happy Belated Birthday, Alison! Isn’t exciting how a pair of shoes can excite us – and not a pair with heels at that. I know you’ll be successful with your fitness goals. You definitely can feel better and be stronger this year than you were last. You are an inspiration.

    1. Thank you! I was thrilled to pick out the shoes! I’m hoping to make it three nights in a row of exercising–even the past two evenings have made me feel stronger and more fit.

  5. Happy Birthday Alison! The new running shoes sound fabulous and as I think of them for some strange reason think of Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz with her sparkly red shoes. I hope you find your yellow brick road and get out there soon although I did read that you managed a 10 minute run on my blog.
    Exercise has always been a dirty word for me and since I’ve had my muscle issues, has been quite challenging. I’ve enjoyed walking but have tripped a bit. Did some swimming but it’s now getting too cold so I’m switching to bike riding. Quite enjoy it even though I haven’t gone far and I can do it with the kids, which is a big advantage.
    I have just returned from an adventure camp where I went surfing, though not standing up and parasailing and did a few out there kind of things and love them so I’m now looking to take more risks and try skiing in a few months time. Go down the maountain.
    xx Rowena

  6. Eat to His Glory · · Reply

    Amen! 🙂 I’m trying to get back on my treadmill myself! Hope you had a blessed birthday!

Leave a Reply

