A Poem for Some Dear Ones

I know someone dear to me

Who exemplifies both strength and fragility

All in one life, side by side

Courage soars and fear tries to hide

Certainty and doubt vie for first place

And a myriad of expressions cross her face

Joyful laughter and deep sadness, too

Hurt and confusion not hidden from view

Yet there is hope to come today

When I hear the words, “I will pray”.

This poem was inspired by more than one person, at more than one time in my life.  The common thread is how dear they each are to me, and what I see as each of them has had to face some hefty obstacles in life.  I long to listen, learn, help, hug, and pray alongside of these dear ones, and to point them to the only source of help I know that is unchanging and eternal.

“I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.  My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.” –Psalm 121:1, King James Version

9 comments

  1. Nicole Kayton · · Reply

    Absolutely beautiful, just like you! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks, Nicole! Thanks for stopping by, too!

  2. This is so lovely! Both the poem and the verse you quoted are deeply touching (The song based on that verse is a favorite of mine). I look forward to reading more of your poetry.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    1. If I’m thinking of the same song based on psalm 121, it is one of my favorites too. I’ve sung two different, yet equally encouraging ones in the past 15 years! Poetry always comes to me as a surprise, so I look forward to it, too! 🙂

  3. I like the Book of Psalms. Be Blessed, Mtetar

    1. Thanks for visiting, Mtetar! We love Psalms in our house, too!

      1. You’re welcome, and Be Blessed with the poetry. Mtetar

  4. Danielle Street · · Reply

    I found your site through visiting greenlightlady’s blog. Both of you have some a beautiful gift for writing poetry. That’s one area of creativity I am weak in. However, I enjoy reading what the Lord has placed on your hearts! Many Blessings, Danielle

    1. Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I love reading Wendy’s writing, too–and have seen so many different forms of creativity with every blog I’ve seen. I look forward to checking out your posts, too! Blessings–Alison

Leave a Reply

