Checking In Before I Check Out

Staying up past my bedtime usually backfires in the morning, and I certainly don’t have anything profound to write about, so I’ll try to keep this short.  Inspiration for writing comes at odd and inconvenient times lately.

Some of the things that have been on my mind during this time of transition that I’d love to write about more thoroughly:

Sibling relationships…this fascinates me particularly as an only child.  Seeing my two children learning how to live, play, share, and cope with one another sends my thoughts in a hundred different directions.

God’s faithfulness…Our lives have been anchored to him for a long time now, and we are endlessly amazed by how he leads us, provides for us, and loves us.

Contentment…in every aspect of life, I have a choice to make in my perceptions.  “Not enough”, “too much”, phrases like these are troublesome and can snowball quickly into pretty dangerous waters like fear, greed, obsession, and doubt.

Family and friends…I have some truly wonderful people near and far who add so much joy and wonder to my life.  I’ve been thinking about how I can bless them in return.

Those are some of the bigger ideas swimming in my head.  I’m at a point where I feel like I’d rather have someone ask me or even tell me to write about a particular topic because I can’t seem to corral all these thoughts!  I always pray that my writing blesses others more than it blesses me.

I’ve checked in, and now it’s time to check out.  Fellow bloggers, keep writing.  I love reading your posts.  Family and friends and visitors, I earnestly thank you for reading anything I’ve written.  May my words and my life point to the one who gave me both.

4 comments

  1. I love your writing Alison! It always inspires me!

    1. Kind words. Thank you, Melissa. Its mutual!

  2. Best of luck during this time of transition! I know you will face whatever challenges you meet with grace and never ending strength. Keep writing. Keep inspiring! 🙂

    1. Thank you! The move was for happy reasons, but it’s still a move. I’m excited to see all the ways my family will “bloom” here!

Leave a Reply

