25 Questions

A fellow blogger recently was looking for ways to let her readers know more about her, as well as have a fresh topic, so she posted these 25 questions along with her responses.  I like the idea, especially since I’ve felt unsure about where to start back up again with writing regularly.  Sometimes exercises like these help me get ideas going, too.

1. What was your favorite food as a child?  Do I have to narrow it down to one?  How about one category: dessert?  The sweet tooth is still alive and well, by the way.  Chocolate chip cookies would definitely be in the top three, both then and now.

2. What color are your eyes?  Perhaps fittingly after the answer to #1, my eyes are chocolate brown.

3. What’s your first thought upon waking up?  “I wonder how long I can get the kids to sleep this morning?”  No matter how late the two of them stay up, they almost never sleep past 7.  Most of the time, someone wakes up before 6 and everyone is awake by 6:30.  This serves us well during the school year, but it can be tricky in the summer!  Also, I can’t remember the last time I woke up before one of the children!

4. Whats the best way to your heart?  Listen earnestly, speak honestly, love unconditionally, and walk closely with Jesus.

5. Do you think Barbie is a negative role model for young girls?  Well, I detested them as a child, and my daughter, now 3, doesn’t have one.  I let her play with friends’ Barbies, but I wouldn’t set this doll up as a role model!  I love that my daughter adores characters like “Fancy Nancy”, who is the epitome of girly-ness but also excels in school and is very bright and creative!

6. Who is your best friend?  Jesus is the only one who can and ever will be a perfect friend.  As far as mortal friends go, I’d have to say my husband.  He has seen me at my best and worst as an adult, confides in me, laughs with me, listens to me, and loves me right where I am.  Thanks, V.

7. What is your favorite quote?  The verses that inspired the name of my blog are certainly among my favorites:  “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith…”  This is from the letter to the Hebrews in the Bible, chapter 12, verses 1 and 2.

8. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?  Cleaning the bathroom!

9. What is your favorite time of day/day of the week/month of the year?  As much as I cherish my children, I love the evenings when all is quiet and I can hear myself think, or I can exercise, or write, or just take a long and uninterrupted shower.  Day of the week–Sunday, because we go to church as a family, V is usually home all day, and we often get together with one or both sets of parents and other family members!  Month of the year–April, because selfishly, it’s my birthday month, and also because spring is my favorite season.

10. What sound do you love?  The sound of my children being kind to each other, or playing together happily.  

11. If you could choose to stay a certain age forever, what age would it be?  32, because by then, I had experienced both my greatest joys and also my greatest griefs so far.  My faith had been tested in different ways, my marriage had gone through the rigors of V’s medical training and thrived, and I had two beautiful children.  

12. When was your last great meal?  I really don’t enjoy overeating or feeling too full, but I did truly think our family’s 4th of July get-together was great.  V’s parents and my parents each contributed something yummy, and being all under one roof made it more special.  It was our first big gathering in our new house, too.

13. Most played song on your iPod?  I don’t have an iPod, nor have I downloaded any songs onto my iPhone…anyway, if I did, the song I would love to hear the most is called “One Thing Remains”.  Every time I hear it, I crumble inside and well up with tears.  I will try to include a link here but I’m really the opposite of technologically savvy. If the link doesn’t work, please look it up.  It’s worth it.  


14. When you have 30 minutes of free-time, how do you pass the time?  Catch up on correspondence with friends, write, read, exercise!

 15. What was the last experience that made you a stronger person?  Making the leap of faith with V to leave his previous position to pursue the one he just started.  A lot of things have changed–home, school, city, but we are in a good place.

16. At what age did you become an adult?  Moving away from home for college–and having my parents move away from my childhood home at the same time–gave me that push into adulthood at age 18.  However, it feels like there are always new challenges that keep me growing!

  17.  Which is the one television character that you simply adore?  My husband will love my answer:  he and I watch a BBC show called “Top Gear”, and the wit and humor of one of the presenters in particular, Jeremy Clarkson, keeps us watching and laughing week after week!

18. What makes you angry?  I have always struggled with a quick temper, but I’d say that true anger comes from injustices and evil in the world.  Staying in a position of anger isn’t productive, though, so I pray that when I feel that way, I’d fall to my knees and find out what I can do to change things.

19. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?  Probably play the piano.  I can read music and play the flute, but I’ve always thought about the piano.  Seeing my son learn how to play has been very inspiring!

20. Who do you resemble most in your family?  That’s a tough one, too.  I remember seeing a picture of my dad’s mom when she was in her 20’s, and being struck by how much her image reminded me of myself!  I have strong characteristics of both my parents.  And, V calls our daughter a “mini-Mommy”.

21. If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do? Pay off all those student loans and mortgages!  

22. Democrat or republican?  I’m sure I am more aligned with the general ideas of one party over the other, but I will only say that I don’t vote based solely on party affiliation, and that I am praying earnestly for our nation!

23. Who did you see at your first concert? The Beach Boys, with my parents, in the 90’s.  We had gotten tickets through my dad’s job, I believe, and it was a lot of fun!

24. What is your favorite book ever?  “Stepping Heavenward”, by Elizabeth Prentiss.  It is about a Christian woman, who is a doctor’s wife and a stay-at-home mother, with a quick temper, earnest faith, and petite frame.  It’s not me, I promise, because the story was written in an earlier century than the one in which I was born…but the similarities are both odd and refreshing and encouraging to me!

25. If given a complete freedom to start afresh, what profession would you choose and why?  I don’t want a profession outside of the home in this season of life. I would not change a thing about the path I am on.  Once the kids are not so little?  I’d love to write more (maybe a book??), or maybe help coach a high school team like tennis or track.  But I am totally content and immersed in being a stay-at-home mom and support for V in his career!

This exercise got me to think about a lot of different aspects of myself.  I am looking forward to learning more about others, too, who might try this!  I am who I am by the grace of God!

8 comments

  1. Oh my pay off student loans is a great one!! I wish I would have thought of that one. And the Beach Boys is an awesome first concert. I really enjoyed reading this. I will have to do this again when I have a family of my own and see how my answers change. It was so sweet that many of your answers revolved around your children. We have similarities, but also many differences and those differences are part of what makes life so great.
    Thanks for sharing! ❤

    1. Thanks, Kelsi! We affectionately call the student loans (husband’s med school is a main part of it) our “other mortgage”. It’s a nutty amount of $.

      Yes, answers sure change over time. Ages and life events can differ, but I love how women especially can still connect and encourage one another. It is a blessing.

  2. Enjoyed this post, getting to know you even better! God bless you and your family! Keep on \o/ daily! Just think, if the Lord returns soon, you won’t have any more debts! \o/ again! ~Liz

    1. Very true! Thanks for stopping by to read! –Alison

  3. Great post Alison and so wonderful to get to know you better! I can relate to so many of these things!

    1. Thanks, Melissa! It was fun!

  4. Oh Alison, this was such an intriguing post! I could relate with many of your answers. Chocolate chip cookies, chocolate brown eyes, paying off student loans and not having an iPod. You’re always an inspiration to your readers!

    1. Thanks–I’m having one of those days when I am particularly honored to hear that I can inspire anyone, when I feel like I need it myself so much! I know all moms have those days when they feel like they are swimming against the current. I hope you are doing well this summer! Maybe a good blog post could be rating chocolate chip cookies…with lots of taste tests, of course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

