Clouds on the Outside, Sun on the Inside

Yesterday was one of “those” days as a parent that just left me flat on my face–literally, because I dozed off on the kids’ bedroom floor well before either of them went to sleep for the night!

I’m writing tonight for my benefit as much as anyone else’s, so I can remember that clouds pass and the sun shines again.

Now, one rough day isn’t anything to complain about in the grand scheme of things, but I think our perspective about the little things sheds a lot of light on how we view and handle the bigger things.

Being able to end our day peacefully yesterday, to see the kids fall asleep with happy thoughts in their minds, knowing their parents’ love for them, and having been reminded of the goodness of God, all these things filled me with hope for the next day.  We faced our challenges, we spoke lovingly to one another, we listened to each other, we prayed together.

Please don’t for a second think I’m trying to make myself out to be a better parent than anyone or that we’ve got it right all the time.  Trust me, it was all I could do to keep from sobbing in the car when I heard a song today about needing Jesus.  Here are the lyrics.  They say what my heart feels better than I can:

Lord, I come, I confess

Bowing here I find my rest

Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Where sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in me

Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, you’re my hope and stay

This is why I can find hope in all places.  It’s nothing occurring naturally in me!

Sunny South Florida had lots of clouds outside, but it was wonderfully brighter in my heart (and I think in my children’s hearts, too) today!  There is always hope when we reach for the one who will never let us down.  My prayer is for the downhearted, the hopeless, the fearful, to find that hope.  Blessings!

 
 
 
4 comments

  1. Clouds really do pass and the sun will shine again. If only that was easier to remember on the cloudy days! I needed to read this today. Thank you, as always, for such positive and uplifting words. ❤

    1. The clouds have a tendency to cloud our perceptions as well as our moods. Just keep going, that’s what we have to do!

  2. Dearest Alison,
    I am grateful to have found your blog (thanks Kelsi!), as your words are beautiful and powerful. I read through older posts and could feel how my heart was filled with hope and determination to hold on to my journey through life.

    Clouds do pass and we have the courage to get through those stormy days. If we keep on striving and reaching, if we continue to choose life and practice courage and gratitude, we can and we will get through our challenges.

    With love,
    Hedda.

    1. Dear Hedda,

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words! It has always been my hope that my words might bless others somehow!

      I am looking forward to visiting your blog, and I’m sure I will “see” you around Kelsi’s blog, too.

      Love,
      Alison

Leave a Reply

